Season over for another year...

2008 Cock O'Harbour Regatta Results

The result of the 2008 Cock Of The Harbour Regatta held on the 12th April went right down to the wire with the Super Taipan "Monkey Boy" sailed by Greg Lynch and Steve "Combat" Yarrington just pipping the local 16ft Skiff "Oi" sailed by Anthony "Johnno" Johnson and Graham "Robbo" Roberson

The final difference was only 12 seconds after 100 minutes of racing. This was the third time in as many years that the "super-cat" has won the regatta and this was the first time another boat has seriously challenged it.

The first part of the race followed a similar pattern to previous years, as the catamaran had built a lead of about 2 minutes after only one lap of the 4 lap race. But as the race continued the skiff gradually ate into the lead before passing the "supercat" on the last downwind leg. Congestion at the final rounding mark had the skiff slowed down by a lapped boat and the cat rounding outside with pace was able to get clear and hold on to win.

The winners expressed surprise and delight in having been pushed so hard for the victory, while the runners-up commiserated over what could have been. The race was sailed in light South-Easterly winds that enabled the skiffs to sail with only two crew instead of the usual three and all agreed that this was critical in the skiff's ability to match it with the catamaran.

The yardstick (or handicap) event held in conjunction was demolished by the skiffs - even with a heavily reduced yardstick due to the smaller crew. "Oi" won from "AJ&W Plumbing" sailed by Jeff "Captain Loose" Riley and Todd Anderson which also finished third over the line.

Third on yardstick went to the VeeEss "Purple Headed Warrior" sailed by Mick & Janine Turton and Rodney Deven. The large fleet of VeeEsses had enjoyed very close class racing, with the first five boats all finishing within one minute of each other. Halfway through the race "ADD123" had been well clear of the other VeeEsses and appeared to have the class win in its keeping but a tactical mistake on the penultimate lap let the others back in and she eventually finished third.

The Bantam O'Harbour for the first junior went to the Flying Ant "Ice Magic" sailed by Naomi Dingle and Bella Jordan.

Start of 2008 Cock O'Harbour Regatta

The photo above shows the race start, with the winner "Monkey Boy" about half way out on the right, dwarfing the boats around her.

Previous year's Cocks have included A Class, Taipan, Hobie and Nacra catamarans as well as 49er and 18ft Skiffs. Yardstick winners have included everything from Hobie 14s to Skates to 16ft Skiffs and VeeEsses.