MG14 Australian Championships 2018-2019 Results

AQUA PEST sailed by Drew Van Ryn and Joss Dal Vera from Cronulla Sailing Club are the 2018-2019 MG14 National Champions.

AQUA PEST won a week-long tussle with St George boat PEGASUS, sailed by Gary Reeves and Ross Pollhill, for top spot. The Cronulla boat had the edge in the predominantly lighter winds that the series was sailed in.

Third was another St George boat 3 KINGS sailed by David Aylward and Charlotte Holliday who also had a close battle, just pipping Darling Point (Queensland) boat BLOWME sailed by Katie Bundred and Adam Walsh by a single point for the final podium spot.

Best performing local boat was FLAMEBOY sailed by Alyson Gearing and Andrew Buchan who were the only boat outside the top two to win a race and finished 6th overall, with BEAT ROUTE 8th (Peter Rothwell and Issac Pace) and SCURVY RASCAL 9th (Arran Gore and Daniel Flood) the other Port Hunter top ten finishers.

In the Handicap Pointscore locals Ben Rigby and Drew Cowen on EXPATRIATE sailed an incredibly consistent series to win, including finishing 10th over the line in the difficult Race 7 where the strong wind and large waves caused a third of the fleet to retire with damage to boat or pride.

Second in the Handicap Pointscore was Gosford boat CHILLIN' sailed by Mark Murray and Ryan Watt. Third was FILTHY FASE from Cronulla sailed by Shinead Surmon and Hugh Benz who used borrowed sails for the series when they realised they had left their mainsail back at Cronulla. Again the battle for the final podium spot was settled by just one point with BALLISTIC from St George (Geoff Davis and Alex Edworthy) just behind in fourth.

Full results below (PDFs):

Championship Pointscore

Handicap Pointscore

Heat 1

Heat 2

Heat 3

Heat 4

Heat 5

Heat 6

Heat 7

Heat 8

Heat 9